Aliansi Jurnalis Independen

Writer named Press Award recipient
May 4, 2007, 1:57 am
Filed under: Berita

Researcher and writer Agus Sudibyo was named Wednesday the first recipient of the Press Freedom Award for his advocacy of press freedom. He defeated 51 other candidates from the media circle.

The award, presented by the Alliance of Independent Journalists (AJI) on World Press Day, sought to recognize Agus’s contribution through his many articles on media issues and his leading role in the Coalition of Freedom of Information — a coalition of several NGOs striving to have a freedom for public information bill passed by the House of Representatives.

A former researcher with the Institute of Studies for the Free Flow of Information (ISAI), Agus is now deputy director of the Science and Aesthetics Foundation (SET) founded by film director Garin Nugroho. The SET was one of the organizers of the first public debate for candidates of the Indonesian Broadcasting Commission, which was held in January.

The jury for the first Press Freedom Award consisted of Santoso of the Radio 68H news agency, Bambang Harymurti of the Press Council and Endy M. Bayuni, chief editor of The Jakarta Post.. — JP
National Scene May 04, 2007


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: